Cooking Local Produce: My 2015 CSA Selections

image

Spring is practically around the corner, and the amazing and fantastically abundant outdoor Farmer’s Market season commences here in Madison on April 18th. Technically that is still a month away…it’s never too early to start a countdown,  right?  While I am super excited to resume selecting my produce directly from the farmer’s that cultivate the locally grown fresh treats, this year I also want to try supporting the local farm efforts by investing in a CSA box. I have always loved the challenge of cooking what’s in season,  and this feels like a healthy new direction to explore. Who can argue with fresh picked and hand selected vegetables? And as you can see from the empty greenhouse…I will also be trying a new approach to a kitchen herb garden by implementing an outdoor strategy that does not involve a all-you-can-eat snack bar for the cat. (We have not yet told the cat…)

In Wisconsin,  we are extremely lucky to have a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) coalition that allows you to search a large number of registered farms relatively quickly: [http://www.csacoalition.org/about-csa/how-it-works-faqs/]. If you live outside of WI, I would suggest looking for a similar organization in your state, or for a little general help, try this site:[http://www.localharvest.org/csa/].

As I alluded to,  I started with a large number options and through carefully reviewing typical crop choice and online customer reviews; at the end of my research I was able to narrow it down to 5. I have been patroning the Dane County Farmer’s Market since I was a child, and know first hand some of the vendors I wanted to partner with. It was so hard to choose! Honestly the final decision tie-breaker came down to the delivery sites and pick-up days/times…plus each one we selected has a 1/2 portion or small box share, yielding a better chance to evaluate both offerings and ultimately help us decide which one to go with next year. So for 2015 we are trying:

http://www.burroakgardens.com/?page_id=13

*and*

http://www.elderberryhillfarm.com/CSA_Sign-up.html

The other options I liked were:

http://www.sproutingacres.com/members/types

*also has punch cards, allowing you to pick your selections personally at the market

http://www.harmonyvalleyfarm.com/csa.php

*also has punch cards, and I am most likely going to buy a few…the beets, Jerusalem artichokes,  edible flowers and greens they grow are awesome and not to be missed

http://www.keewaydinfarms.com/new-csa/

*also has egg shares, you can go in for every week or every other week

I look forward to sharing my cooking adventures and would love to hear from anyone else attempting an eat local type challenge.  Just 4 days left until the OFFICIAL start of Spring!

This entry was posted in Food etc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking Local Produce: My 2015 CSA Selections

  1. Barb johnson says:

    I know several people who have used a csa in seaford and been very happy. Impossible for us to grow so many veggies in our yards. The greenhouse s a great idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

